Wingardium Leviosa

I remember for my 9th birthday, I had a party at Laser Quest and invited all of my friends. We all ran around for an hour shooting each other with lasers while the parents got to sit and talk, organizing the loot bags and handing out cake. I’ll never forget opening my presents to find Barbies, toys and the one gift most kid dreads – a book. To be honest, I didn’t really mind the gift because I love to read; I was just a little concerned with the fact that it didn’t say Baby Sitters Club and it wasn’t written by Judy Blume. The book was titled, “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” and the front cover featured a kid on a broom. I had no interest in reading the book at all and told my brother he can have it. At the time, Harry Potter was not popular. It was just released a few months before and I did not want to give it a chance. That was until my curiosity overtook me and I read the entire book in a week. (That’s pretty impressive for a 9 year old, just saying).

Although I never ended up finishing all seven of the Harry Potter novels, I am still a major fan and own all of the movies. I even went to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios last December. I probably was the oldest “kid” there, accompanied by my parents — but I loved it, nonetheless.

It’s no surprise that with the release of the final movie, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, shortly approaching that all of us Potter fans are panicking. Without any new books or movies to look forward to, where will that leave us? That’s where Pottermore fits in.

Last week, JK Rowling told everyone about the Pottermore website that is supposed to launch sometime in the next few hours. Speculation for the past week has been buzzing online. No one knows what the website is, but it’s very exciting and the thrill of the mystery is gaining so much attention. Some think it will introduce a new book, perhaps about Harry’s parents when they were students at Hogwarts. Others think it will be an online game. The ideas are endless and I’m sure whatever it is will be great. I keep refreshing the page in hopes it has launched (although rumour has it, that by 8:00 PM tonight it should be live). I’ll keep you all updated with news on Pottermore but in the mean time, what do you think Pottermore will be?

Update!! Pottermore has launched and although it is still a bit unclear, the following was posted on the web site:

“Pottermore is a free website that builds an exciting online experience around the reading of the Harry Potter books. Come back on 31st July to find out how you can get the chance to enter Pottermore early.”

Will you be visiting Pottermore?

About theadstudent

Hi, I'm Jodi! Advertise on the Rise is my personal blog where I can share everything interesting relating to advertising. I love the advertising world and I want to share all the exciting news and concepts that I come across in my day to day life.
This entry was posted in Innovation, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

